top of page

Unreal Engine Importing

Importing into Unreal using color swatches was brand new to me- this made it incredibly annoying to do. While I see the usefulness of using color swatches as textures, it was totally unique from the way I had been learning how to texture in my other modules. It is a useful technique to have at my disposal, but I don't expect to be using it again in the future, at least not until it becomes easier than simply texturing props by hand. I much prefer using Substance Painter, but it is good to have the knowledge available to me.


This is our current color palette. I used a neon pink anywhere we had extra space, so it would be easier to find any bits that are not where they belong. To use swatches, I selected everything in the scene, and cut all of the UVs into faces. From there, I used Hypershade to select the faces by material, matching them up on rte grid to wherever their matching color would be. After then combining them into their FBX files and importing them into Unreal Engine, it was very easy to set up the material and apply it to all of the models.



Final renders will be on my portfolio!

© 2035 by Train of Thoughts. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page